Measuring the Canucks Experience (now includes coaches)

It has been a stated goal of the Jim Benning regime to supplement the team’s influx of young talent with experienced veterans that are high in character. While character is an intangible product that is impossible to quantify, experience, on the other hand, is quite easy to judge. With that in mind, let’s take a look at the winning experience that the Canucks now possess on their roster. I’ve decided to include Stanley Cup experience (as well as Finals appearances), Calder Cups, Memorial Cups, Frozen Four championships, and Gold Medals in the Olympics, World Cups, World Championships, and World Junior Championships. At this point, I’m snubbing the various European League championships.


Stanley Cup Winners: 0

The Canucks have no players that have won the Stanley Cup in the organization.


Stanley Cup Finalists: 7

Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Alex Burrows, Jannik Hansen, Alex Edler, and Chris Tanev-

All six players went to the Finals with Vancouver in 2011, although Tanev barely played.


Derek Dorsett-

Dorsett went to the Finals with New York in 2014.


Calder Cup Winners: 2

Chad Billins-

New signing Billins won the Calder Cup with Grand Rapids in 2013.


Michael Chaput-

New signing Chaput won the Calder Cup with Lake Erie in 2016.


Not winners, but Sven Baertschi, Alex Biega, Brendan Gaunce, Alex Grenier, Jake Virtanen, Jacob Markstrom, and Mike Zalewski all went to the Final with Utica in 2015.


Memorial Cup Winners: 3

Michael Chaput-

Chaput also won the Memorial Cup with Shawinigan in 2012, and was named MVP.


Cole Cassels-

Cassels won the Memorial Cup with Oshawa in 2015.


Olli Juolevi-

Juolevi just won the Memorial Cup with London in 2016.


Frozen Four Winners: 2

Brock Boeser and Troy Stecher:

Boeser and Stecher won the NCAA championship together in 2016.


Olympic/World Cup Gold Medal Winners: 2

Henrik Sedin and Daniel Sedin-

Henrik and Daniel both won the Gold with Sweden in 2006.


World Championship Gold Medal Winners: 7

Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Alex Edler, Jacob Markstrom, and Loui Eriksson-

Eriksson, Edler, Markstrom and the Sedins with Gold for Sweden in 2013.


Ben Hutton and Chris Tanev-

Tanev and Hutton won Gold with Canada in 2016.


World Junior Championship Gold Medal Winners: 2 

Brandon Sutter-

Sutter won Gold with Canada in 2008.


Jake Virtanen-

Virtanen won Gold with Canada in 2015.


Overall, the amount of experience currently on the Canucks may seem a little underwhelming. Having no Cup winners within the organization seems like a problem that should be fixed at some point, but it does look like championship experience has been added at the AHL level with Michael Chaput and Chad Billins, which should help the development of prospects.


In terms of the coaching staff, however, the Canucks have quietly assembled a team with experience winning championships at almost every level of hockey.

Doug Jarvis won four Stanley Cups as a player and two as an assistant coach.

Willie Desjardins won a World Junior Gold as an assistant and a Calder Cup with Texas as head coach, and also won a WHL championship with Medicine Hat.

Doug Lidster spent time coaching the highly successful Canadian National Women’s Team in 2010, which won Olympic Gold among other championships.

Perry Pearn won the World Junior Gold Medal as head coach of Canada in 1993.

Heck, even new goalie coach Dan Cloutier won a Memorial Cup (as a backup).

Travis Green hasn’t won much in hockey, but has won over $345,000 playing professional poker.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s